The pizza…the chocolate

Good evening, kind reader.  I don;t have long.  I’ve wasted a good part of the night buried in spreadsheets making sure there’s enough money left at the end of the month.  OK, so maybe it’s not a waste.  Anyway, I’m tired, and my laptop battery is almost gone.

That pizza I ate the the other night still seems to be making me feel full, like I’m carrying it around still, which I decidedly am not.  Good Lord did I feel sick after eating that thing.  It wasn’t even that good, which makes me feel better, like maybe I’m losing my taste for pizza.  But the carb overload just made me feel sick, and sick I got.Full belly

Now the issue is Easter candy.  I like the quick burst of energy chocolate gives me.  My boss happens to keep a bowl of Cadbury Dark Chocolate Mini Eggs on her desk for the team.  Her boss brought in Girl Scout Cookies: Samoas and Thin Mints.  Fortunately I’ve been able to restrain myself when it comes to those, because I am a Tagalong man.  I’d be lying if I said I haven’t had a few though.  The good part is that they are at the back of the room, where I seldom go.  But it’s like they are calling out to me.  With the cookies and the candy it’s like a confectionary Scylla and Charybdis.  I won’t weigh myself until Saturday, so there’s time.  Well, a day and change.  I had a few graham cracker squares with low fat peanut butter for dinner to come in under my  calorie budget today.  I feel full still.  It has to be the pizza. Scylla and Charybdis

On a non-food related note, my debit card was compromised the other night. I’ve been surprisingly unstressed about it.  I had added an Uber app to my phone and entered in my card information, and took one ride, to a bar with a buddy of mine on a guys weekend.  And really, if I’m being honest, we had to use Uber because he’s pissed off every cab driver in the greater Portland area.  Anyway, two nights ago I get a text from an Uber driver telling e he’s here, and is the hotel the right place?  I told him he had the wrong number.  He cancelled the call.  not 5 minutes later, he texts back asking if I just ordered another ride.  I told him someone was messing with both of us.  I opened my app, checked the map and he was in Scranton/Wilkes-Barre, PA!  I fired off an angry email to Uber telling them to cancel my account, refund me the $31 and close my account.  They were gracious in defeat and did all I asked them to.  I called my bank, not wishing to see more money come out (because I just got paid, got a student loan refund, and a tuition reimbursement from work).  They shut my card down immediately, refunded me the $31 (I assume they will get their money from Uber’s refund to my account), and shipped me a new card 2 day air and waived the fee because I keep no credit cards nor do I bank elsewhere.  So I can go…nowhere this weekend, but still. It was surprising.  We just can’t assume anything is safe anymore, and it makes me a little sad.  And angry at those who would steal the money others work so hard for, like we can afford to give it away without a fight.  Grrrrrrr….

Identity-Theft

OK, I’m at 10% now and my eyes are getting heavy.  Time to put the peanut butter away, brush, floss and sleep.  Next time, let’s talk about two side effects of gastric bypass : dumping and excess skin from rapid weight loss.  Fascinating, right?Dumping

One thought on “The pizza…the chocolate

Leave a Reply

